Introduction: my pursuit

Hi everyone! This is the blank slate on which I will document my longest, most determined yoga pursuit to date: 101 days of Bikram yoga. This challenge runs from January 1-April 11, and the blogging homepage is here

If you aren’t familiar with Bikram yoga, here’s the super-quick summary: it’s a 90-minute series of 26 postures, practiced in a room intentionally heated to 105 degrees. It’s both physically and mentally demanding, but you almost always leave class feeling lighter and happier. A long-term practice improves your physical stamina and really allows you to connect with your body. As Bikram says, it’s a moving meditation: through developing physical self-awareness, you develop emotional consciousness as well.

As for how I discovered Bikram yoga? Frustrated by a running injury that refused to heal, I first stepped into a Bikram studio on a whim in January 2008 and did 26 classes in the first 30 days. Since then, it has been quite a journey, with highs and lows: there was a long period when I practiced everyday, with enthusiasm and joy. Recently, however, I have just come off of a 9-month hiatus where I barely practiced at all; I am currently slowly easing back into a regular practice. This 101-day challenge is my attempt to rekindle passion with my yoga practice, trying to breathe with patience and acceptance at every stage of this journey.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Introduction: my pursuit

  1. bikramyogachick says:

    Welcome! We are going to rock this out! Can't wait to read your blog.

  2. thedancingj says:

    I'm so glad you're on board, and even BLOGGING it! Wow! This is going to be great. Good for you, baby. I'll tell you something that a very wise person tells us at the start of every class: "Breathe. Everything else is optional." That is my blessing to you at the start of this.All love, J

  3. lz says:

    Thanks for the enthusiastic support, Bikramyogachick and J! Those are wise words indeed, thanks for the blessing! 🙂 I'm looking forward to this!

  4. YogaSkier says:

    Thanks for your kind words on my blog! Love, love, love dancingj's quote…I'm going to have to pass that one on! Congrats on coming back after your hiatus. I can't wait to hear about your journey towards recapturing the passion, joy and yes, acceptance!

  5. Big G says:

    Yay, another blogger, and another 101 challenger! This is gonna be fun…

  6. lz says:

    YogaSkier and Greg, thank you for reading! This will be fun indeed 🙂

  7. sophia rocks! says:

    Cool! I'm starting yoga next semester…though not bikram yoga. I'd love to learn more!

  8. lz says:

    Hi Sophia, that's awesome! The yoga experience really can serve you in whichever ways you want it to–whether you seek more breath control, more focus, or more awareness on an emotional level, it can all be developed through some aspect of the practice. Yoga will provide all the tools. It is just up to you to pick and choose which ones you need.

  9. katie says:

    Nice to meet you!Hope bikrams going well. Katie

Leave a Reply

