Anatomy of a Decision

“Next pose, everybody arms up over your head, palms together.”

You would smile at yourself in the mirror and eagerly bring your palms together with enthusiasm… if only it wasn’t halfway through class; if only you weren’t exhausted. Your heart is racing and the room feels even hotter than usual. Standing with your arms by your side, you really don’t feel like doing this posture. Besides, in several earlier postures, you had already brought your palms together over your head many, many times. How can I ever do this, you wonder. I’m really tired right now, I’m not strong enough right now. You hesitate, unsure of whether to get in the posture.

Then, a surge of energy rises within you and you put your arms over your head, your palms meeting. You proceed further in the posture, reaching the depths of the pose. For several seconds, you feel solid. Then, you lose the engagement of a muscle and fall out of the pose, palms hitting the floor.

You’re discouraged. See, I knew I wasn’t good enough to stay in that pose. I’m having an off day. I’m tired. I just want to sit out the rest of this set. What am I having for dinner tonight? I’m still tired.

No, this really isn’t easy; it wasn’t meant to be. But then you consider that maybe putting your arms over your head again followed by a bend or a turn doesn’t require that much more energy than standing here. You realize that maybe it’s not actually that much harder to just slowly move into the posture.

You know what? You think to yourself. I have the strength.

I can do it.

And you put your hands over your head, palms together, and try again.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Anatomy of a Decision

  1. Johan says:

    Thanks so much for that. I think that was just the rewording of that going slow I needed. Time for some more commitment to the postures you want to sit out.

  2. Big G says:

    I think that happens about once per class for me:)

  3. bikramyogachick says:

    Oh the stuff that goes on in our heads while in class! So true!

  4. ariella says:

    My arms get tired right before standing sep. leg head to knee.As a teacher, I feel it is my responsibility to use my voice to help people through moments like that… thanks for reminding me of another spot to pick up the volume and excitement for my students tonight!

  5. louisianagrown says:

    It truly is amazing the way that everything you THINK is physical is truly mental.

Leave a Reply

